Assessment report of potentials for RES community energy in the target regions

The Renewable Energy Directive of the EU has represented a key driver for the uptake of renewable energy resources for electricity in Europe. However, there are several countries and regions within the EU where the uptake of renewables for electricity have been comparatively low so far. Current technological innovation provides opportunities for decentralised RES systems of production and energy storage that enable the rise of new collective forms of energy citizenship. The “Clean Energy for all Europeans” package puts consumers at the heart of EU energy policies; the recast Renewable Energy Directive (RED II) includes new provisions for RES community energy empowering them to participate in the energy market. There is a need to re-align national and regional policy frameworks and support schemes with RED II.

Member States have to transpose the definitions, rights and duties of renewable energy communities (RECs) pursuant to RED II and provide an enabling framework to promote and facilitate their development” (see Article 22(4) of the RED II), Furthermore, RED II requires that Member States “carry out an assessment of the existing barriers and potential of development” of RECs (Article 22(3)), COME RES and specifically the deliverable at hand aim to inform and support Member States in accomplishing this task.

Deliverable 2.2 includes rough assessments of the potentials for RECs in the COME RES target regions. These assessments rely on a common methodology and take into consideration the specific climate, energy, technological and socio-economic conditions. They are based on a cascade approach: starting from the technical RES potential (e.g. based on data such as available land, rooftop areas, housing types, climatic conditions) or politically agreed targets, an estimate is made about the fraction of this potential that could be particularly suitable to be 'unlocked' by community approaches.

Publication Date: 31 Aug 2021

Author: Erik Laes (TU/e), Kellan Anfinson (TU/e), Michael Krug (FUB), Vincenzo Gatta (FUB), Erika Meynaerts (VITO), Elena De Luca (ENEA), Rossana Cotroneo (ENEA), Martina Caliano (ENEA), Gaidis Klāvs (IPE), Ivars Kudrenickis (IPE), Stine Aakre (CICERO), Håkon S